[Foodie] English Breakfast Liege Waffles

SONY DSC

Being unemployed has given me a whole lot of time to start on my long list of baking and cooking adventures which means a lot more to share with ya’ll. And these Liege Waffles are stinkin’ amazing.

Liege waffles are a thicker yeast waffle with a more of a bready texture. Plus they’re  sweet and delicious all on it’s own because there are these magical sugar crystals inside that don’t melt away into the batter but caramelize the waffle. Crispy on the outside but oh so soft on the inside…they’re heavenly.

Anyways, I was freakin’ out when I had these and decided I needed to figure out how to make it on my own.

And hello…..waffle maker!! Any chance to use it makes me a happy camper.

So here we are 🙂

SONY DSC

Yum yum yum.

The original recipe is also delish, but I am kind of a tea fanatic. Honestly. I can’t function in the morning without tea time.

SONY DSC

And these are only the teas I drink regularly…

To incorporate the English Breakfast Tea, you simply seep your tea per usual, except in half or even a quarter of the amount of water in order to get that tea flavor to really pack a punch. I even tried this with Thai Tea, Early Grey and a Vanilla Almond Black Tea!

SONY DSC

A day well spent making and experimenting with these bad boys! And a day well spent remembering to be content in my current unemployment status and reflecting on how God is really growing me through this experience. Learning to put my full trust and dependence on the Lord and his timing has definitely not been a walk in the park, but thankfully he is putting me through the refiner’s fire. Praise praise to the Lord for always remaining the single constant when everything else is is a whirlwind around me.

 

I will give thanks to you, O LORD, among the peoples;

I will sing praises to you among the nations. 

For your steadfast love is great above the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the clouds. 

Psalm 108: 2-4

 

Alright friends, happy eating ❤

Juang

English Breakfast Liege Waffles 

Adapted from The Sugar Hit 

INGREDIENTS

For Sugar Crystals

  • Half Cup of Sugar
  • Two Teaspoons of Maple Syrup

For Waffle

  • One Third Cup of English Breakfast Tea (Lukewarm)
  • One Teaspoon of Yeast
  • Two Teaspoons of Sugar
  • Two Cups of All-Purpose Flour
  • Half Teaspoon of Baking Powder
  • Big Pinch of Salt
  • Three Large Eggs
  • Fourteen Tablespoons (Two Sticks minus Two Tablespoons) of Butter, Melted

DIRECTIONS

  1. The night prior, mix together the sugar and maple syrup to make the sugar crystals. It should be the consistency of brown sugar. Spread it out fairly thin on a plate and refrigerate overnight. When you take it out, it should break/crumble into pieces.
  2. Seep one bag of English Breakfast Tea in half a cup of hot water. Let it sit until it is lukewarm. Once lukewarm, mix in the yeast and sugar. Let it sit for about 15 minutes.
  3. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt,
  4. Incorporate the tea mixture. Don’t worry, it’s supposed to look pretty dry.
  5. Add in the eggs one at a time, making sure each one is well incorporated.
  6. Take the melt butter and mix it in small batches  until it forms a dough, making sure each batch is well incorporated.
  7. Let the dough sit and rise for at least one hour or until doubled in size. Gently mix in the sugar crystals and then let it sit for another 15 minutes (I know….waiting is a killer…)
  8. Get your waffle maker nice and hot and bake your waffles according to your waffle maker’s instructions.
  9. Enjoy multiple at once.

[Note] These waffles will make your waffle maker pretty stinkin’ messy from all the butter and sugar caramelizing all over the place so do not neglect cleaning that bad boy out ASAP.

Leave a comment